People: Interaction

I am focusing here on the People part of Groundswell‘s POST process.  To recap on last weeks posting, the P in POST is People, referring to your social techno-graphic/audience/target group.  Watching their YouTube posted video expanding on this idea, the blogging community is divided into 6 levels of interaction:

  • Creators
  • Critics
  • Collectors
  • Joiners
  • Spectators
  • Inactives

Starting my informal research inquiries, I asked my husband, a very early reader of political blogs, if he commented on blogs.  He not only does NOT comment, he does not read the comments due to the element of time (category=Spectator). What draws him back to a blog is the quality of the content and that it changes.  The draw to the next political blog is to see who else is writing about this topic and what they have to say.  Veracity of topic is judged by reoccuring themes. Site re-visit is inspired by his ever-evolving perspective of the sites reputation, based on ‘breaking news’ and ‘the truth behind the story’ compared to regular news.  Of the three blogs: TruthOut; The Drudge Report and DailyKos, none seem to incorporate ranking systems. [His demographic would fall into the Business Traveler group.]

I interact in our graduate program blogs as a Joiner requirement in the role as either Creator/Spectator or Critic. Mind you, my entire initial blogging experience is due to Kathy Gill and born of our educational program requirements. Otherwise, I’d have remained a Spectator, only collecting manually in my little notebook and never interacting.  In addition, in my non-required blog interaction, I find I Collect information from Technical blogs and post Critiques on my personal blogsite for later use.The most valuable asset a site offers me is well-organized, pertinent information, reviews, in context and links to another perspective. The comments of others on topics of interest help my determination of reputation. I have yet to RSS collect and the only voting I do is my NetFlix account, though my star level definition is not that of Netflix…I have yet to see the 5 star movie. [My demographic mirrors Small-Business owners, been one several times over.]

Matching the content to the audience is not a new idea.  We have revisited this theme again and again in our curriculum (at least the old one); Media Message Design, Research in Digital Media, Digital Media Management and I presume any of the coursework specific to Marketing.  What is new are the categories based on levels of interactive participation, our latest form of consumption.  Interestingly enough, when I was researching the trends of the rise of the supermarket and consumerism, alpha moms were identified then as the new $$ market.  Now it is 18-27 year-old.

(Note: I have NOT read the book, just have been watching a few videos by ForresterResearch and read some blog posts by peers).

Follow up:  After pointing hubby in the direction of how he might comment on his fav political blogs, he instead decided to comment here!  So, you can read his comments/corrections by clicking ‘comments’ below. He also pointed out that he was, in many cases, simply not aware there WERE comments.  So, I think there is also the opportunity for some hard evaluation of the page design for blogs.  I noticed KEGill has changed her blog theme and now the whole discussion is more visable.

:-)

About ifarmurban

Project Manager residing in sleepless Seattle.
This entry was posted in social networks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People: Interaction

  1. Boomheist says:

    This is the FIRST time I have ever commented on one of these things. I only use blogs to read the news, I have several I look at regularly, and mainly because they are terrific direct links to real news sources. For instance I use Drudge not because I appreciate his far right skewed perspective but because he has a very user-friendly layout to read newspapers, news sources, and columnists. I believe actually that the blogosphere from a political perspective is better used by the left, ie, the left blogs are easier to read and seem more user friendly than those from the right, and there seem to be more of them. There are a few that show articles and comments across the spectrum on one page, and these are interesting too. In the last five or six years I would say that NO major story that made the mainstream media wasn’t first referenced in a blog, sometimes weeks and months before. For example when the Abu Grahib scandal broke, this was being reported on the blogosphere months before the MSM got into it. This has also been true on a host of other stories, and the reason I read the blogs is to catch these stories as they happen and not when MSM decides they are worth reporting. Having said that, however, it is also true that the blogs are probably less accurate than MSM at times, so you have to read them with an open mind. I didn’t even know you could comment on them and then, now that I know it, why bother? For me the blogs are news sources like TV, MSM, and radio. I have not become a blogger because I have other things to do with my time and I spend enough time as it is sitting in front of a computer keeping up with the news – if I started commenting then I’d do nothing else.

Leave a Reply

